Gastronomy

​En till kanelbulle, tack!

“One more cinnamon bun, please!” is the only thing I can say in Swedish. The best reason to visit Scandinavia, if you ask me.

I fell in love with Sweden through music, history, and gastronomy. Not to mention it is one of the most humane countries I had a chance to visit. My often visits to Stockholm happen due to a passionate and curious palate of mine as well as due to interesting philosophical discussions on the North.

When I announce that I am going to spend a couple of days in Sweden, everyone is saying – Oh, work again? That’s the moment when I smile and say – no, it is kanelbullar. Of course, usually, it is work what gets me to get through all the paperwork I need to travel, but the anticipation of getting my taste buds satisfied makes me patient and willing to go through all sorts of bureaucratic procedures in order to get to my destination.

There is this fantastic bakery in Gamla Stan area in Stockholm called Fabrique. I have never tasted anything as delicious and it is a true challenge to try to get the same taste by making these buns at home. It takes some patience, but the results are magnificent.

Not all my travels result with obsessions concerning food, but the kanelbullar became part of my genetic code. I wish I was exaggerating because often times I’d sit on a plane just for the purpose of eating a native cinnamon pastry. I swear to God, every moment I would see a bakery, I would enter and buy them. I couldn’t and didn’t want to hold back. I am weak and they are addictive. Mystery solved.

Cinnamon buns à la Swedes have a touch of cardamom that made me fall in love with them through the first bite. You already know that nobody loves cardamom as much as I do. They are easy to make and twisting and turning the dough can be a rather therapeutic process. 

I will share with you a video in which you can see a twisting part. It is much easier to understand the technique if you have an opportunity to see how it is done. It will save me from unnecessary writing as well.

Perfect for any occasion, for any part of the day, a simple piece of bread that will make your life wonderful. I promise.

 

Kanelbullar recipe

ingredients for the pre-dough: 2 1/2 tablespoons of active dry yeast, 2 cups of warm milk, 5 3/4 cups of all purpose flour, 2 tablespoons of sugar.
ingredients for the dough: 4 cups of all purpose flour, 1 cup of softened butter, 1 cup of white granulated sugar, 1 egg, 1 tablespoon of ground cardamom, 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract, 1 teaspoon of salt.
filling: 100 grams of softened butter, 1 cup of light brown sugar, 1 1/2 tablespoon of ground cinnamon ( if you want cardamom buns, instead of cinnamon, put 1 tablespoon of ground cardamom ).
brushing: 1/3 cup of sugar, 1/4 cup of water, 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract. 
garnish: crystal sugar, sugar pearls or icing sugar. ( if you are making cardamom buns, sprinkle some ground cardamom on top ).
Mix yeast with milk and sugar and let it rise for 5 minutes. Mix with flour and let the dough rise for 30 minutes. Incorporate the dough ingredients and knead the dough for 20 minutes. Cover and let it rise for 30 minutes.
In the meantime, prepare the filling by mixing all the ingredients together.
Flip the dough onto a floured worktop, knead the dough a little bit more to reshape it and divide into two equal parts.
Roll one part of the dough into a rectangle on a lightly floured surface and spread half of the cinnamon filling on the dough lengthwise. Then fold the dough so that the empty side covers the filled one.
Make cuts in the dough, around one centimeter wide and twirl. Form into a knot and hide the end of the dough under the bun. Place onto a baking sheet covered with wax paper, sprinkle with some sugar pearls and let the buns rise for 30 minutes.
In the meantime, repeat the same with the second part of the dough.
Boil water, sugar, and vanilla and make the syrup.
Bake in a preheated oven at 220ºC for 10 minutes. Brush with the syrup and leave on the rack to cool.

 

 

11 thoughts on “​En till kanelbulle, tack!

  1. Delicious one, oh my God if i eat this one with free sugar arabic coffee, it will be so fascinating for sure , Tatjana! I have to see you, i need to know you in person, because you are such a unique person and so kind. Love your writings too much. Thank you and thank you 😂😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is said that we get to know people through their writings more than we manage to know them in direct communication. I’m happy you enjoy what I write. It would make me even more happy that you start to bake as well 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Correct, the intuition of ones writer is strong. Thank you so much for this lovely comment, i made that caramel cake, it was easily to be made. Nice taste, followed your steps in the recipe😊👍😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes too much,, it was soft on stomach. You cant feel it while eating that kind of dessert dish. To be honest, i just wanted to take photo shot for what we prepared but i did not. If we did it one more, i will share the photos for sure😊😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

